top of page
tiger and spotlights from ceiling on a stage_edited.jpg

2024 Foundation Celebration

JCEF names 2024 Mini-Grant Teacher of the Year

The Jefferson County Educational Foundation, Inc. named Willet Boyer III, Ph.D., the 2024 Mini-Grant Teacher of the Year recently at its April 17 celebration event at Jefferson County Schools. Boyer is a historical archaeologist whose research focuses on the historical era in Florida and the Greater Southeast. He has taught at Jefferson K-12 for five years and works with students in the field of archaeological sites throughout the Big Bend region. As part of Dr. Boyer's awards package, he is pictured in front of the newly designated  "Mini-Grant Teacher of the Year" parking space available now until a new recipient is named in 2025.

WCTV Anchor Lanetra Bennett served as mistress of ceremonies. 

IMG_3692 (1)_edited.png

Duke Energy's Danny Collins named  
Pinnacle Achievement Award Recipient

 The Foundation’s sponsors were spotlighted with a new award designation. Tim Sanders of the Madison County Foundation For Excellence in Education (MCFEE) presented the first Pinnacle Achievement Award  to Danny  Collins, Government & Community Relations Director, for Duke Energy Corporation.

Dr. Ida Walker is JCEF's first Mountain Mover Award recipient 


In addition to honoring teachers who applied for mini-grants through the Foundation, Julius Hackett of Tri-County Electric Cooperative and Stefanie Bowden of Comcast presented JCEF’s first Mountain Mover Award to Ida Walker, Ph.D. Walker, who is nationally certified and is the mathematics instructional coach. She wrote six mini-grants targeting low student performance in math and for teacher professional development.


Celebration Carousel 

Photos byS J Photography

IMG_3695 (1)
IMG_3557 (2)
IMG_3632 (1)
IMG_3610 (1)
IMG_3657 (1)
IMG_3670 (1)
IMG_3510 (4)
IMG_3514 (3)
IMG_3529 (1)

Several new sponsors join the JCEF Celebration Team in 2024

Several new partners including the event’s signature sponsor  Lucky Goat Coffee, a Tallahassee-based coffee brewery founded in 2010, Publix Supermarkets,  First Commerce Credit Union,  Trader Joe’s, and Sam’s Club join JCEF’s rank of supporters.

Longtime Celebration sponsors included Duke Energy Corporation, Mr. & Mrs. C. Martin Wood, Tri-County Electric Cooperative, Comcast, Lloyd Nursery, James & Tatyanna Hoenstine, State Farm Tommy Surles, State Representative Allison Tant,  AFLAC of the Big Bend, Eli Roberts & Sons, Beggs Funeral Home, Property Appraiser Angela Gray, and School Board members Mags Flynt, District 5, and Brenda Wirick, District 3. Other contributors were CMX Cinemas, Taylor Massage, Costco, Kim Pittman, Millennium Nail Salon, Lauri Wildgoose, Gem Nails & More, Full Moon Honey, Breon Parker, Geraldine Wildgoose, Clynell Jackson-Washington, and Ana Portillo.

IMG_3587 (1)_edited.jpg
bottom of page